President’s Address

Dear Club Patron, Number One Ticket Holder, Life Members, Committee Members, Members, Parents & Supporters,

It is always exciting thinking about a new cricket season, none more than this season, my 4th as President and probably the most exciting after our exploits last year winning the A Grade Premiership for just the third time in our 45-year history.

The club first commenced as Wanneroo DCC on the 12th day of April 1976 and was accepted into the WACA Premier competition in 1979.

A first-grade side was entered into the WACA Premier competition in 1983. Since then, we have progressed into the great club we are today, having sides in all four senior grades along with a Colts squad and 17s, 15s, 14s, and 13s in the junior WACA Premier competition as well as Female Premier cricket integrated into our great club in the 2018/19 season.

Our home ground is Kingsway Sports Ground where we have two outstanding adjoining turf grounds, which in the winter of 2018, the wicket blocks on both grounds were completely re-laid. The club also has wonderful turf training facilities, which will also get re-laid and upgraded at the end of the 2018/19 season. We are also one of the only WACA Premier Clubs to have its very own indoor facility, The Shed, which has four carpeted lanes along with two bowling machines, this has been refurbished for the commencement of the 2021/22 season for the value of over $40K. 

Our modern well-equipped club rooms have a fully licensed bar with a spacious entertainment area. During the off-season of 2019 in May, we had all the practice wickets re-laid and renovated, and ready for use in December 2019.

We pride ourselves on all our achievements over the years, which include a solitary Bank West One Day Premiership in 2000/01 defeating Willetton at the WACA. We also won our first and only Club Championship so far in 2011/12, which coincided with our first two-day pennant premiership in 2011/12 defeating Subiaco-Floreat at the WACA. There was also a second two-day pennant premiership awaiting us in season 2013/14 defeating Claremont-Nedlands at the WACA. In an amazing turn of events, after some fruitless years, 2017/18 would be another Premiership year for the Wanneroo Districts Cricket Club as our first grade took out their first-ever T20 Premiership, defeating Claremont/Nedlands in pennant final then the Country XI at the WACA Ground to be crowned State-wide T20 Champions.

Amazingly we have again reached these heights in 2020/21, winning our third two-day pennant premiership in ten years defeating Claremont-Nedlands at Lilac Hill in Guildford. We also reached the semi-finals of the T20 competition in the 2020/21 season.

In an amazing fact, outgoing Club Director of Coaching, Life Member & current committee member, Joel Charles played in the first three premierships as a player and coached the fourth & fifth, an unbelievable achievement that I do not think will ever be replicated.

A number of our players progressing through to State and National representation, including Marcus North, Damien Martyn, Michael & David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, and our former A Grade Captain and current Director of Coaching, Travis Birt. 

We have also actively recruited another former state-contracted player this season, to fill the gap left with Travis Birt’s retirement and Kelvin Smith returning home to South Australia in Chris Sabburg from the University CC for the 2021/22 season, Chris has been the most outstanding batsman runs-wise in Premier Cricket over the last 3 years, welcome to the Roo’s Chris! 

There has also been a plethora of Roo’s who have represented WA at junior and senior level, the most junior state representatives of any club in WA, something we are also very proud of.

We have a specialized coaching and administration structure in place to ensure we are continuing to strive for excellence both on and off the ground. This handbook will provide you with all the information to enable you to become the best you can be, both as a player and as a club member. Please take time to read our Culture, Codes of Behaviour and policies we have put in place, as I am sure you will gain so much from them and in doing so will gain much enjoyment being a part of our wonderful club.

I’d like to welcome all new members and returning members to the club this year, on top of this our new and existing committee members who include; Vice President Shane Maraldo, Secretary Darrell Kelsey, Grounds Manager Mike Dargie, Communications Manager John Walter, Junior Coordinator Greg Holly, Clothing & Equipment Manager Kevin Walker, new Head of Female Cricket Pete Byrne, Director of Cricket Ian Poulter, Registrar/Barman/Scorer Dave Bebb, Daniel Stumpers, Club legend Joel Charles, Andy Stewart, new member Jimmy Skouros & last but not least our WADCCI Senior Delegate/Management Committee Member & newly appointed Chairman of the UAC Mike Minear, who is back after a health scare last season.

We also have some goodbyes to make as well, our outgoing Treasurer Karen Dzodzos is leaving her post after 9 years of service on the executive and many hours volunteering and helping our club, we still look forward to seeing her at the club on weekends though! Thanks for everything Kaz!

The other is undoubtedly the greatest recruit we have signed at W.D.C.C in my time – Kelvin “Special K” Smith, he leaves us after two seasons to return home to South Australia after making over 1,900 runs, 5 hundred’s, 11 fifties – almost forty wickets, arguably the greatest innings I have seen in the “Miracle at Fletcher”, 137* in the Elimination Final at Perth, a Paul Lucas Medal, 2 x Mike Hussey Batting Awards, 2 x Ted Hussey Player of the Season awards, 2 x WADCCI Team of the Year representations, 3 x 2ndXI games for Western Australia and finally the holy grail a premiership with the Mighty Roo’s in 2020/21 – Thank you Kelvin and WA’s loss is SA’s gain! Good luck with the next chapter of your life with your beautiful fiancée Stacey and we hope to see you playing first-class cricket again soon!

Let’s all have a successful year on and off the field in 2021/22!

Get on the Roo Train!

David Minear